How ChatGPT Affects Us Creative Writers (My Personal Experience)

Blankmarks
6 min readJan 2, 2023
Photo by Jackson Sophat on Unsplash

So AI has been improving a lot lately. It’s even stepping into territories that I thought would last the longest.

I’ve heard bad and good things about it. The most interesting one right now is ChatGPT and its impact on fiction writers.

After watching videos like:

I became interested in trying this new AI myself. I wanted to see if it will harm people like me or help.

I wanted to know, how will ChatGPT affect creative writers. From gaming to novel writers.

Here’s my experience, and I what I learned.

The AI’s Side

This is what ChatGPT claims it can do for us.

  1. Generating ideas: ChatGPT can be used to generate new ideas for stories, characters, and plot points. By providing it with a prompt or some examples of the kind of ideas you are looking for, it can generate a list of potential ideas for you to choose from.
  2. Writing dialogue: ChatGPT can be used to help generate realistic and engaging dialogue…

--

--

Blankmarks

I’m Blankmarks and I love magic in fiction. I’ll write about the various magic types and concepts not only for fun but to help writers create new magical worlds